Riley Jenson Guardian Series by Keri Arthur, Books 1-9

So, this is how I spent most of last week.

The good parts of the series are very good and the bad parts were almost enough to make me stop reading it.

Seriously, I was PERTURBED. Highly upset, y’all.

It’s a good thing I bought this in ebook format, or I might have had another book-shaped hole in the wall.

Okay. Enough complaining.

Click the image to see the series on Amazon.

Riley Jenson is a werewolf/vampire mix with some unusual abilities. She’s cocky, insubordinate, promiscuous, and a coffee addict. She also has a strong sense of justice and personal responsibility. She works as a liaison for the Directorate, the agency that polices nonhumans like her. Her brother, one of the Directorate’s elite guardians, disappears and only Riley can find him. This catapults her into ever more dangerous situations and draws her deeper into the dark world of the guardians.

It was fun seeing Riley’s character evolve and deciphering her various relationships. And there are a LOT of relationships. There are friends with benefits, on-again-off-again lovers, a soul mate or two, etcetera etcetera etcetera. This girl loves sex and is not afraid to mix business and pleasure. If you aren’t a fan of sex scenes, skip this series. It felt like half the books were about sex. While I enjoy a good sex scene that drives the story forward, it’s boring when repeated every few chapters. By the third book, I was skimming and skipping.

Sex scenes aside, the story progression was really good. I liked Riley’s character development. I also enjoyed how her main love interest grew and changed over the course of the series.

And then there was Book 7. A character that I was invested in had a change of personality and then DIED. It totally ruined the series for me. Other readers loved the twist, though, so judge for yourself.

I kept going until the last page of Book 9, hoping for a happily-ever-after ending, and I sort of got it. It was enough that I didn’t regret finishing the series, but I was left unsatisfied.

Here are the titles of the books in order. Click on the titles to buy them on Amazon.

Book 1: Full Moon Rising

Book 2: Kissing Sin

Book 3: Tempting Evil

Book 4: Dangerous Games

Book 5: Embraced By Darkness

Book 6: The Darkest Kiss

Book 7: Deadly Desire

Book 8: Bound to Shadows

Book 9: Moon Sworn